The Hop influence is a flop - Badger Institute

via Badger Institute by KEN WYSOCKY

At a press conference last fall, Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrettannouncedthat in the three years since city officials approved the $128 million streetcar project, a.k.a. The Hop, assessments of properties within a quarter-mile of its 2.5-mile route have jumped nearly 28%, to about $3.95 billion. That compared with a 13.4% increase citywide.

During the press conference, held at a Hop station at the corner of North Broadway and East Wells Street, Barrett said the streetcar was the catalyst behind the $862 million surge in valuations within the defined areas since 2015.

To test Barrett’s claim, the Badger Institute reviewed the 15 real estate projects that contributed most to that $862 million valuation increase. In all, those 15 large projects — which featured either new construction or significant renovations to existing buildings — generated nearly $564 million of the gain, or 65%, based on figures provided by the city assessor’s office.

The complete story here > The Hop’s influence is a flop

We had Alderman Mark Borkowski on this morning, and he's urging voters to contact their Alderman to voice their opposition to Mayor Barrett's plan to expand The Hop. Below is the contact information

1st District – Ald. Ashanti Hamilton, 414-286-2228 (ahamil@milwaukee.gov)

2nd District – Ald. Cavalier Johnson, 414-286-3777 (cavalier.johnson2@milwaukee.gov)

3rd District – Ald. Nik Kovac, 414-286-3447 (nkovac@milwaukee.gov)

4th District – Ald. Robert Bauman, 414-286-2886 (rjbauma@milwaukee.gov)

5th District – Ald. Nikiya Dodd, 414-286-3870 (ALD05@milwaukee.gov)

6th District – Ald. Milele Coggs, 414-286-8640 (mcoggs@milwaukee.gov)

7th District – Ald. Khalif Rainey, 414-286-2863 (Khalif.rainey@milwaukee.gov)

9th District – Ald. Chantia Lewis, 414-286-2868 (Chantia.lewis@milwaukee.gov)

10th District – Ald. Michael Murphy, 414-286-2074 (mmurph@milwaukee.gov)

12th District – Ald. José Pérez, 414-286-2861 (joseG.perez@milwaukee.gov)

13th District – Ald. Terry Witkowski, 414-286-8537 (twitko@milwaukee.gov)

14th District – Ald. Tony Zielinski, 414-286-2873 (tzieli@milwaukee.gov)

15th District – Ald. Russell Stamper, 414-286-3771 (Russell.stamperII@milwaukee.gov)

Mayor Tom Barrett c/o Mayor’s Office, City Hall

200 E. Wells St. Rm. 201

Milwaukee, WI 53202

(414) 286-2200

Mayor@milwaukee.gov

Mail for Common Council: Ald. (name)

c/o Office of the Common Council/City Clerk

200 E. Wells St. Rm. 205

Milwaukee, WI 53202

title

Content Goes Here